What Are the 66 Books of the Bible in Order?

Here is a list of the 66 books of the Bible in order from the Old Testament to the New Testament.

Checkout this video:

The 66 Books of the Bible

The 66 books of the Bible are the foundation of Christian belief. Written over a span of 1,500 years by 40 different authors, the Bible is a collection of sacred texts or scriptures that Christians consider to be the word of God.

The Bible is divided into two main parts: the Old Testament and the New Testament. The Old Testament contains 39 books, while the New Testament has 27. The first book of the Bible is Genesis, and the last book is Revelation.

In between these twoTestaments are four additional books called the Gospels. These Gospels tell the story of Jesus Christ, who Christians believe is the son of God. The Gospels are Matthew, Mark, Luke, and John.

The Books of the Bible in Order

The Bible is a collection of 66 books, divided into the Old and New Testaments. 39 of these books are in the Old Testament, while 27 are in the New Testament. The order of the books in the Bible is generally arranged according to when they were written, with the oldest books appearing first.

In the Hebrew Bible, the books are divided into three sections: the Torah (the first five books), the Neviim (the prophets), and the Ketuvim (the writings). The Christian Bible has a similar structure, with four sections: the Gospels, the Acts of the Apostles, the Epistles, and the Apocalypse.

Here is a list of all 66 books of the Bible in order:

Old Testament:
Genesis, Exodus, Leviticus, Numbers, Deuteronomy, Joshua, Judges, Ruth, 1 Samuel, 2 Samuel, 1 Kings, 2 Kings, 1 Chronicles, 2 Chronicles, Ezra, Nehemiahm Estherm Jobm Psalmsm Proverbss Ecclesiastess Song of Solomons Isaiahs Jeremiahs Lamentationss Ezekielss Danielss Hoseas Joel Amos Obadiah Jonah Micah Nahum Habakkuk Zephaniah Haggai Zechariah Malachi

New Testament:
Matthewm MarkmLukemb Johnm Actsm Romansm 1 Corinthiansm 2 Corinthiansm Galatians EPhesians Philippians Colossians 1 Timothy 2 Timothy Titus Philemon Hebrews James 1 Peter 2 Peter 1 John 2 John 3 John Jude Revelation

The Old Testament

The Old Testament is the first section of the two-part Christian biblical canon; the second section is the New Testament. The Old Testament includes the books of the Hebrew Bible or protocanon, and in various Christian denominations these books are sometimes divided into a separate category called the deuterocanonical books. Orthodox Christians, Catholics and Protestants use different canons, which differ with respect to the texts that are included in the canon.

The New Testament

The New Testament is the second main division of the Christian Bible. It concerns the life and teachings of Jesus and his early followers, from his birth to his Ascension. The New Testament has 27 books in total, which are further divided into four categories: the Gospels, the Acts of the Apostles, Pauline epistles, and general epistles.

The Gospels are accounts of Jesus’ life and ministry, as well as his teachings. They are named after their authors: Matthew, Mark, Luke, and John. The Acts of the Apostles tells the story of the early Church after Jesus’ death and Ascension. It was written by Luke. The Pauline epistles are letters written by the Apostle Paul to various churches and individuals. Finally, the general epistles are letters written by other early Christian leaders such as James, Peter, and Jude.

The Gospels

The Gospels are the first four books of the New Testament: Matthew, Mark, Luke, and John. They tell the story of Jesus Christ’s life, death, and resurrection.

The word “gospel” means “good news,” and that is what these books are: good news of God’s love for us shown in his Son, Jesus Christ. Through Jesus’ life, death, and resurrection, God offers us forgiveness for our sin and the hope of eternal life.

The Pentateuch

The Pentateuch, also called the Torah or the Law, is the first five books of the Bible. These books were written by Moses and contain God’s instructions for His people. The Pentateuch includes the following books:


The Historical Books

The historical books of the Bible are Genesis, Exodus, Leviticus, Numbers, and Deuteronomy. These five books are also called the Pentateuch, which means “five scrolls.” They are written by Moses and tell about the creation of the world, the beginning of the nation of Israel, and God’s laws for His people.

After the Exodus from Egypt, Joshua leads the people into the Promised Land and conquest of Canaan. The next six books (Joshua, Judges, Ruth, 1 & 2 Samuel, 1 & 2 Kings) continue the history with accounts of Israel’s settlement in Canaan and their periodic disobedience to God—and His consequent discipline. These books end with Israel’s fall to Assyria and Babylon and exile from their land.

The Wisdom Books

The Wisdom Books are a group of books in the Bible that are considered wisdom literature. This includes books like Psalms, Proverbs, and Ecclesiastes. The Wisdom Books are different from the rest of the Bible because they focus more on human relationships and how to live a good life.

The Wisdom Books are divided into two types: poetic and didactic. Poetic books are full of metaphors and images, while didactic books are more like a manual or instruction book. The Wisdom Books are important because they teach us about God’s character and how we should live our lives.

The Major and Minor Prophets

The Bible is divided into two sections: the Old Testament and the New Testament. The Old Testament contains 39 books, while the New Testament contains 27 books. The Old Testament is further subdivided into four sections: the Pentateuch, the Historical Books, the Poetical Books, and the Prophetic Books. The Prophetic Books are further subdivided into two sections: the Major Prophets and the Minor Prophets.

The Major Prophets are Isaiah, Jeremiah, Lamentations, Ezekiel, and Daniel. The Minor Prophets are Hosea, Joel, Amos, Obadiah, Jonah, Micah, Nahum, Habakkuk, Zephaniah, Haggai, Zechariah, and Malachi.

The Apocalyptic Books

The Apocalyptic Books are the final four books of the Bible, which include Daniel, Ezekiel, Revelation, and Joel. These books contain predictions and visions of the future, including the end times.

Scroll to Top